No, there are not more than a hundred Optimus robots working shifts inside Tesla's Fremont factory. As of early September 2026 there is a partially installed production line where Model S and Model X used to be built, and Tesla's own quarterly filing lists it under the status “Construction” with an installed annual capacity of “-”.
The article that previously sat at this URL was fabricated. It claimed a hundred-plus robots on the floor, 45 kg lifting, 24 hours of uninterrupted operation and 10,000 units by 2027. Not one of those figures traces to Tesla. What follows is the version built only from documents you can open yourself: Tesla's shareholder updates, its SEC filings, transcripts of what Elon Musk actually said on earnings calls, and the published record of rivals who are further along on verified deployment than Tesla is.
The distinction that matters here is the one the fake article erased. There is demo footage. There are executive projections. And there is shipped reality. In Optimus's case those three things are still very far apart, and the distance between them is the story.
What Tesla itself says, quarter by quarter
Tesla publishes a quarterly shareholder update PDF on its investor relations site. It is a primary source, it is legally consequential, and it has a table listing every product line with its installed annual capacity and its status. That table is the single most useful antidote to Optimus rumour, because Tesla has to stand behind it.
Here is what the last three of those documents say about Optimus, verbatim where it matters:
| Update | What Tesla wrote about Optimus | Capacity table status |
|---|---|---|
| Q4 2025 (published Jan 2026) | “In Q1 of this year, we plan to unveil the Gen 3 version of Optimus... The Gen 3 is our first design meant for mass production”, with “start of production planned before the end of 2026 and eventual planned capacity of 1 million robots per year”. | Optimus — capacity “-”, status Construction |
| Q1 2026 (published Apr 2026) | “Preparations for our first large-scale Optimus factory will begin shortly in Q2. The first-generation line, designed for 1 million robots a year, will replace the Model S and Model X lines in Fremont.” | California Optimus and Texas Optimus — capacity “-”, status Construction |
| Q2 2026 (published 22 Jul 2026) | “We have decommissioned the manufacturing lines for Models S & X at our Fremont Factory and are installing the first-generation lines for Optimus, where we expect to start production soon. The initial Optimus builds will be used in our Optimus Academy for training data collection and further functionality development.” | California Optimus and Texas Optimus — capacity “-”, status Construction |
Three consecutive quarters, same status, no capacity number. The Gen 3 unveiling promised for Q1 2026 in the January document had not happened by the time the July document was published, and the July document does not mention it at all.
There is one more detail worth catching, because it is the kind of thing that gets lost in headline coverage. In the Q3 2025, Q4 2025 and Q1 2026 updates, Tesla's outlook section read: “First-generation production lines for Optimus are being installed in anticipation of volume production.” In the Q2 2026 update the same sentence reads: “...in anticipation of production in 2026.” The word “volume” quietly disappeared. That is a company narrowing its own commitment in the safest legal language available to it.
The Fremont claim, checked against the filings
Tesla files a production and deliveries release with the SEC at the start of every quarter. The Q2 2026 one, dated 2 July 2026, reports 451,758 vehicles produced, 480,126 delivered and 13.5 GWh of energy storage deployed. It breaks vehicles into Model 3/Y and Other Models. There is no Optimus line. There has never been an Optimus line in any Tesla production report.
That absence is not an oversight and it is not a conspiracy. Tesla does not report a number because there is no reportable production number. On the Q4 2025 earnings call, held 28 January 2026, Musk was asked directly about robots working in Tesla's factories and said: “We have had Optimus do some basic tasks in the factory. But as we iterate on new versions of Optimus, we deprecate the old versions. It's not in usage in our factories in a material way.” He added: “Well, we are still very much at the early stages of Optimus. It's still in the R&D phase.”
That admission is significant because of what preceded it. On the Q4 2024 call in January 2025, Musk said “the normal internal plan calls for roughly 10,000 Optimus robots to be built this year” and, asked whether they would be doing useful things by the end of 2025, answered: “Yes, I'm confident they will do useful things.” A year later the answer was that the robots were not in material use. Tesla had also stated in mid-2024 that it had two Optimus units performing tasks in the factory autonomously.
So the honest description of Fremont in September 2026 is this: the Model S and Model X lines were decommissioned and the last of those cars came off the line around May 2026; the building is being retooled; Tesla expects production to start “later this year”; and whatever comes off that line first is earmarked for an internal programme, not for a job on the assembly floor and certainly not for a customer.
Where the fabricated numbers came from
It is worth taking each of the fake article's claims apart, because the errors are instructive rather than random. This is how bad robot coverage is manufactured.
- “Lifts 45 kg” — the widely cited carrying-capacity figure for Optimus is 45 pounds, which is about 20 kg. Someone dropped the unit conversion and more than doubled the robot's strength. This is the single most common Optimus error in circulation.
- “Runs 24 hours uninterrupted” — Tesla has never published a runtime specification. What it did state at the Gen 2 reveal in December 2023 is a 2.3 kWh battery pack in the torso. A 2.3 kWh pack cannot power a walking, manipulating humanoid for 24 hours; published third-party estimates land in the hours, not the day. Any 24-hour figure is invented.
- “10,000 produced by 2027” — 10,000 was Musk's stated internal plan for calendar year 2025. It was missed by a wide margin. Tesla has since declined to publish any unit target for 2026.
- “Over 100 robots actively working” — contradicted by Musk's own January 2026 statement and by three quarters of “Construction” status in Tesla's filings.
There is a related confusion worth naming, because you will run into it constantly. The figures “1 million robots a year” (Fremont) and “10 million robots a year” (Gigafactory Texas) are real Tesla statements — but they describe what the lines are designed for at full theoretical output, not what they will build. Tesla says so explicitly in the footnote under its own capacity table, which warns that installed capacity exceeds current production rate and that limitations may be discovered as rates approach capacity. Design capacity is an engineering intent. Output is a fact. Coverage that treats them as the same thing is the source of a large share of Optimus nonsense.
Which generation is current, and why you have not seen it
The current publicly demonstrated hardware is Generation 2, revealed in December 2023, plus an interim revision Tesla itself refers to as “version 2.5” in its Q4 2025 update. Generation 3 — the one Tesla calls “our first design meant for mass production” — has still not been formally unveiled.
The reveal has slipped repeatedly and publicly. Musk indicated on the Q3 2025 earnings call that V3 would probably arrive in Q1 2026. On 31 March 2026, with the quarter running out, he posted on X: “Optimus 3 is walking around, but needs some finishing touches before it's ready to be shown.” On the Q1 2026 call on 22 April he pushed it again, to roughly the middle of the year, with Tesla indicating it wanted to hold the design back until production was close so competitors would have less time to study it. As of early September 2026, no unveiling event has taken place.
That is an unusual situation and it deserves to be stated plainly: Tesla is building a factory for a product it has not yet shown. Everything published about Gen 3's appearance and capability at this point comes from patents, a silhouette shown at a conference, and executive description — not from a demonstrated machine. Anyone giving you confident Gen 3 benchmarks is extrapolating.
The specifications that are actually published
Here is what can be sourced, with the caveat attached to each. Tesla does not maintain a public spec sheet for Optimus the way it does for its cars, so parts of this table come from Tesla presentations rather than a datasheet.
| Specification | Figure | Confidence |
|---|---|---|
| Height | 173 cm (5 ft 8 in) | Consistently reported; frame unchanged since Gen 2 |
| Weight | 57 kg (125 lb) | Consistently reported; Gen 2 shed about 10 kg vs Gen 1 |
| Carrying capacity | About 20 kg (45 lb) | Widely reported, not a current Tesla datasheet figure |
| Battery | 2.3 kWh pack, torso-mounted | Stated by Tesla at the Gen 2 reveal, December 2023 |
| Hand degrees of freedom | 11 (Gen 2) → 22 (Gen 3) | Gen 3 hand described by Tesla as its “latest hand design”; 22-DoF figure from patents and reporting |
| Walking speed | Gen 2 stated as 30% faster than Gen 1 | Relative figure from Tesla; absolute speeds circulating online are inconsistent |
| Compute | AI5 inference processor | Tesla said in its Q1 2026 update it completed the final AI5 chip design in April 2026 |
| Unique parts | Roughly 10,000 | Musk, Q1 2026 earnings call |
| Price | Not announced | No price, no deposits, no waitlist, no public sales |
Note what is missing from that table: uptime, mean time between failures, task success rate, cycle time, cost per unit. Those are the numbers that decide whether a humanoid is a product or a research programme, and Tesla has published none of them.
Demo footage versus shipped reality: the teleoperation record
Optimus has a documented history of demonstrations that were less autonomous than they appeared, and this is the main reason experienced robotics people discount Tesla's clips.
At the “We, Robot” event in October 2024, Optimus units mingled with guests, poured drinks and held conversations. They were being remotely assisted by human operators, which Tesla did not disclose from the stage. Robert Scoble, who attended, said publicly that the robot bartender was not wholly AI and that “a human is remote assisting”. Morgan Stanley analyst Adam Jonas wrote in a note that the bots “relied on tele-ops (human intervention)”.
The pattern recurred. At Tesla's “Autonomy Visualized” event in Miami in December 2025, an Optimus handing out water bottles dropped them and fell backwards. Immediately before falling, its hands moved up to its face in a grasping motion that looks a great deal like a person pulling off a VR headset — the robot was not wearing one. Musk has denied that the demonstrations are teleoperated, saying of an October 2025 clip “AI, not tele-operated” and telling an earnings call that at the Tron premiere Optimus was doing kung fu with Jared Leto and “nobody was controlling it”. Tesla has not published operator logs or any independent verification either way.
Teleoperation is not fraud in itself. It is a standard and legitimate part of robot development: you drive the machine through a task to collect the demonstration data the learning system needs. The problem is disclosure. When a clip is presented as autonomous capability and is not, every subsequent claim from the same source has to be discounted — which is exactly the tax Tesla is now paying on Gen 3 announcements it has not shown.
Why it slipped: magnets, hands, and 10,000 unique parts
The delays have identifiable causes, and they are worth understanding because they apply to the whole humanoid sector, not just Tesla.
The first is supply chain. On Tesla's Q1 2025 earnings call in April 2025, Musk said Optimus production had been hit by China's restrictions on rare earth magnet exports, describing it as a “magnet issue” and noting the magnets were needed for the robot's arm. China had blocked exports of seven rare earth elements earlier that month; the licensing process runs through China's Ministry of Commerce and can take weeks to months. High-performance neodymium magnets are not a nice-to-have in a humanoid — they are what makes a compact, high-torque actuator possible at all, and a humanoid has dozens.
The second is the hand. Dexterous manipulation is the hardest unsolved problem in the field, and Tesla's own documents track it: Gen 2 shipped 11 degrees of freedom per hand, Gen 3 is built around a new hand roughly doubling that. More degrees of freedom means more actuators, more tendons, more calibration and more failure points, packed into the smallest volume on the machine.
The third is manufacturing itself. On the Q1 2026 call Musk described the challenge as roughly 10,000 unique parts on an entirely new line and said it “will move as fast as the least lucky, slowest, dumbest part in the entire 10,000”. On 1 July 2026, after walking the newly installed Fremont line, he pushed back on speculation that output had quietly begun, writing: “No, Optimus production will be extremely slow at first, as everything is new. This is not like making a car.” On the Q2 call he called Optimus the hardest product Tesla has ever had to scale, because there is no existing supply chain for it.
Those are credible engineering explanations. They are also, taken together, an argument for treating any near-term Optimus volume forecast — including Tesla's own — as provisional.
How rivals compare on verified deployment
The most useful context for Optimus is that Tesla is not the leader on the one metric that counts: robots doing repeatable paid work in someone else's building. On that measure two smaller companies are ahead.
| Company | What is publicly verifiable | Named customers |
|---|---|---|
| Agility Robotics (Digit) | More than 65,000 operating hours accumulated across nine customer facilities; RoboFab plant in Salem, Oregon designed for up to 10,000 units a year | GXO, Schaeffler, Toyota Motor Manufacturing Canada, Mercado Libre |
| Figure | Figure 02 ran an eleven-month pilot at BMW Spartanburg, logging over 1,250 operating hours and loading more than 90,000 sheet metal parts, above 99% placement accuracy per shift and an 84-second cycle time, supporting production of over 30,000 vehicles; Figure 03 since moved to logistics sequencing at the same plant | BMW Group (extension to Plant Leipzig planned from summer 2026) |
| Unitree | Roughly 5,500 humanoid units shipped in 2025, targeting 10,000–20,000 in 2026 — volume driven largely by research, education and developer sales rather than industrial work | Broad developer and research market |
| Tesla (Optimus) | No production count published; no external customer; no operating-hours disclosure; Fremont and Texas lines listed as under construction | None |
Even those rival figures deserve care. Agility has never published an installed-base count, so unit-count estimates for Digit vary by a factor of three or more depending on who is guessing. What is verifiable is different in kind: operating hours, totes moved, parts loaded, named sites. Those are the numbers to trust, because a customer's facility manager would notice if they were wrong.
Sector-wide, the credible estimate of commercially operational humanoids worldwide in 2026 is in the single-digit thousands, and most of that is Unitree hardware sold to labs and developers rather than machines doing industrial work. Claims you will see of tens of thousands of deployed units, including cumulative Optimus figures in the 50,000 range, do not come from the companies described and do not survive a check against filings.
The credible sceptical case
The strongest criticism of the humanoid thesis does not come from Tesla short-sellers. It comes from Rodney Brooks, who co-founded iRobot, ran MIT's computer science and AI lab, and has been building commercial robots for four decades.
In an essay published on 26 September 2025 titled “Why Today's Humanoids Won't Learn Dexterity”, Brooks argued that the plan for humanoid robots to become plug-compatible replacements for human manual labour is not achievable on the timelines being sold: believing it will happen, he wrote, “any time within decades is pure fantasy thinking”. His technical argument is specific rather than dismissive. The breakthroughs in speech, vision and language all rested on carefully engineered representations of their input domains, and no equivalent exists for touch. Learning dexterity from video, without the tactile data that makes human hands work, is in his view attacking the problem from the wrong end.
Brooks is not saying humanoids fail. He expects plenty of them in fifteen years — but that “they will look like neither today's humanoid robots nor humans”, with wheels instead of legs, varied numbers of arms, sensors in non-human places and task-specific end effectors instead of five-fingered hands. That is a forecast that the bipedal, anthropomorphic form factor is partly a marketing decision.
The narrower scepticism about Tesla specifically is about track record. Optimus targets have moved every year since the programme was announced in 2021: production-ready by 2023, then limited production with over a thousand units in 2025, then 5,000 for internal use in 2025, then roughly 10,000 units in 2025, then a Gen 3 reveal in Q1 2026, then mid-2026, then production start in July or August 2026, then “later this year”. Each individual slip has a reasonable explanation. The pattern is the signal.
What to watch, and how to read the next Optimus story
If you want to track this without being manipulated by either the hype or the backlash, there are a small number of reliable checkpoints.
- The capacity table in Tesla's quarterly update. When California Optimus moves from “Construction” to “Production”, that is real and Tesla is accountable for it. Nothing on X is equivalent.
- An Optimus line in the quarterly production and deliveries release. Tesla reports what it can count. The day a robot number appears there, the programme has crossed from research into manufacturing.
- A Gen 3 unveiling with a hands-on press session. A staged clip is not evidence; journalists and roboticists handling the machine is.
- An outside customer with a named site. Figure and Agility both cleared this bar. Tesla has not attempted it.
- Boring operational metrics. Operating hours, cycle time, success rate, intervention rate. Companies publish these when the numbers are good.
And a practical filter for anything you read: if a claim about Optimus includes a specific fleet size, ask where the number came from. Tesla has never published one. Every fleet-size figure in circulation — 1,000 at Fremont, 15,000 by year-end, 50,000 cumulative — is a third-party estimate or supply-chain rumour dressed as a fact. Some of them may turn out to be roughly right. None of them is currently verifiable, and an unverifiable number stated confidently is how the article this one replaces came to exist.
My own read, for what it is worth: Optimus is a genuine engineering programme with real hardware, a real factory conversion and a real chip behind it, and it is running roughly two to three years behind what was promised for it. Both halves of that sentence are true, and most coverage picks one.
FAQ
Are Optimus robots working in Tesla's Fremont factory right now?
No. Tesla's Q2 2026 shareholder update, published 22 July 2026, lists the California Optimus facility with status “Construction” and no installed capacity, and says the first-generation lines are still being installed. On the January 2026 earnings call Musk said Optimus is “not in usage in our factories in a material way”. Earlier prototypes did perform some basic factory tasks, but Tesla deprecates old versions as it iterates.
How much can Optimus lift?
The commonly cited figure is about 20 kg, which is 45 pounds. Claims of 45 kg come from a botched unit conversion. Tesla does not currently publish an official payload specification.
Which Optimus generation is current in September 2026?
Generation 2, revealed in December 2023, plus an interim revision Tesla calls version 2.5. Generation 3 — described by Tesla as its first design intended for mass production — has been announced but not formally unveiled, after reveal dates slipped from Q1 2026 to mid-2026 and then passed without an event.
Can you buy an Optimus?
No. There is no public sale, no price, no deposit and no waitlist. Tesla stated that initial builds will go to an internal “Optimus Academy” for training data collection and functionality development. Any site offering pre-orders is not selling a Tesla product.
How many Optimus units has Tesla built?
Tesla has never disclosed a number, and no Optimus line has ever appeared in its quarterly production reports. Reporting has suggested a few hundred units against a 5,000-unit internal target for 2025, but that is not company-confirmed. Treat every specific fleet figure you see as an estimate.
Is Tesla ahead of other humanoid robot companies?
Not on verified deployment. Agility Robotics reports more than 65,000 Digit operating hours across nine customer facilities with named customers including GXO and Schaeffler, and Figure ran an eleven-month pilot at BMW's Spartanburg plant logging over 1,250 hours and 90,000 parts loaded. Tesla has no external customer and no published operating hours. Tesla's potential advantage is manufacturing scale, which is exactly the part it has not yet demonstrated.
Were the Optimus demo videos remote-controlled?
Some were. At the October 2024 “We, Robot” event the robots were remotely assisted by human operators, which Tesla did not disclose on stage; a Morgan Stanley note afterwards said the bots relied on tele-ops. Musk has denied that later demonstrations are teleoperated. Tesla has published no logs or independent verification, so treat any single clip as insufficient evidence of autonomy.
Sources
- Tesla Q2 2026 Update (shareholder deck, 22 July 2026)
- Tesla Q1 2026 Update
- Tesla Q4 2025 Update
- Tesla Q3 2025 Update
- Tesla Second Quarter 2026 Production, Deliveries & Deployments (SEC Form 8-K, 2 July 2026)
- Tesla Investor Relations — Q2 2026 financial results
- Electrek — Musk admits no Optimus robots are doing useful work at Tesla (28 January 2026)
- Electrek — Tesla pushes Optimus V3 reveal later this year, again (22 April 2026)
- Electrek — Musk shuts down Optimus “4D chess” theory (2 July 2026)
- Electrek — Optimus takes a suspicious tumble in new demo (7 December 2025)
- Rodney Brooks — Why Today's Humanoids Won't Learn Dexterity (26 September 2025)
- Humanoid Guide — Humanoid deployments in 2026 favour Figure and Agility (19 July 2026)
- The Register — Musk distracts Tesla investors with Optimus hype (29 January 2026)
- Interesting Engineering — Optimus robots remotely supported by humans at We, Robot
- The Hill — Musk says China's blocking of rare earth magnets will hit Tesla humanoid robots
- Not a Tesla App — Tesla delays Optimus Gen 3 unveil for “finishing touches” (31 March 2026)
- Wikipedia — Optimus (robot), for generation history and collected specifications



